Honoring your contributions and our students' successes

On April 26, the East Side Learning Center (ESLC) celebrated its superhero donors, staff, readers and tutors. The tutors provide one-on-one literacy tutoring to maximize the organization’s mission of “Unlocking each child’s potential through the foundation of reading.” ESLC Executive Director Chris Flippo, welcomed and recognized the children who participated in the program becoming Super Readers. Flippo also acknowledged the people who worked with the children, and said, “Tutors, you are the Super Heroes who live and work among us to teach the children to read.” 

Watch the thank you video from the event

For the first time ever, the evening also included the presentation of ESLC awards for outstanding service, commitment to ESLC's values, and to dedication to the children: The ESLC Partnership Award, the Theresa Gerhardinger Award, and the Mary Riehle Service Award.

Sister Sharon White, OSF, ESLC’s program director announced the nominees and recipients of the ESLC Partnership Award. The three nominees with exceptional service to the children in ESLC’s reading tutoring program were: Experience Corps, which provides volunteer tutors through the American Association for Retired Persons Foundation (AARP), Edmentum, Inc. which delivers online learning courses, and Craig Sweet of the Wilder Foundation Achievement Plus program. The Partnership Award recipient for 2018 was given to Craig Sweet, for going above and beyond in his work with ESLC to enhance partnerships, ensure each child’s needs were met, and that ESLC staff was informed of important information.

The Theresa Gerhardinger Award is given because the ESLC was founded by the School Sisters of Notre Dame (SSND). Gerhardinger was the founder of the SSNDs in Bavaria and came to America to expand the SSND educational programs for the poor, immigrants, and girls.  Executive Director Flippo described the nun’s work this way: “Sister Theresa started schools in the 1800s when leaders believed that girls and the poor should not go to school or learn to read and write. ESLC would not be here without the service of the SSND women.” This year’s honorees are: Alyssa Hamel, Sr. Rita Jirik, SSND, Cindy Mullan, Lizz Paulson, Sr. Sharon White, OSF, and Sr. Jane Thibault, SSND.

The recipient of the 2018 Theresa Gerhardinger Award was Sr. Sharon White, OSF, who has served as a clear, effective role model and leader in promoting ESLC’s mission, instructional philosophy, and core values. In presenting the award, Flippo said, “Sister Sharon has given life and meaning to the words and wisdom of Theresa Gerhardinger.”

The final award, the Mary Riehle Service Award, recognizes individuals who embody Mary’s spirit of service and who possess the same qualities of kindness, respect, and a loving heart. The honorees were: Dean Andrews, Lois Charboneau, Jean Fenstad, Sharon Johnson, Ann Marie Schaffhausen, and Mike Stuhl.

The recipient of the Mary Riehle Service Award was Sharon Johnson, whose commitment as a professional tutor has meant building relationships with her students. Sharon has worked hard to adapt lessons, making them interesting and effective for each child. Her willingness to help in any way that improves student service and outcomes exemplifies all that Mary Riehle represented and lived every day of her life.